San Diego LGBT Pride 2012

Image via Passport

The San Diego LGBT Pride has announced the 2012 recipients of the annual Spirit of Stonewall Awards. These awards are designed to honor local individuals and organizations that have made a positive impact on San Diego’s LGBT community.

Kicking off Pride weekend, July 20-22, the awardees will be honored at the Spirit of Stonewall Rally on Friday July 20th at 6 P.M. between University Avenue and the newly renamed Harvey Milk Street. Prior to Pride, there will be a reception at the W hotel on June 26th from 6:30 -8 P.M. where awardees will have the opportunity to reflect on their collective accomplishments. Members of the public are welcome to attend both of these events.

This year’s award recipients are:

Champion(s) of Pride: Senator Christine Kehoe and Jerry Turner
Friend(s) of the Year: Dr. Aaron Bruce, Congresswoman Susan Davis and Tess Banko
Stonewall Service Award: Safe School Task Force and The Imperial Court de San Diego
Community Service Award: Joe Foster and Joey Powers and Linda Perine
Lifetime Achievement Award (Posthumous): Charles McKain

More information about San Diego Pride after the jump…

San Diego LGBT Pride was founded in 1974. Today the annual San Diego LGBT Pride Parade is the 4th largest in the U.S. and attracts over 197,000 vibrant and cheerful spectators and significant media participation. This year’s theme is “America’s Pride,” and will be on July 21 starting at 11:00 A.M. at University Ave. and Normal Street.

The weekend Pride Festival will be at Marston Point in historic Balboa Park (Sixth & Laurel St.) with a projected attendance of 55,000. Highlights include live entertainment, a Farmers Market, the Beer Gardens and Wine Grotto, a Leather Realm, a venue of LGBT local artists), a Youth Zone and Children’s Garden, and over 300 vendors.

This year’s music headlines include former Destiny Child and club diva Kelly Rowland (July 21), and pop sensation Natasha Bedingfield (July 22). “Kelly Rowland and Natasha Bedingfield are great highlights to Pride’s entertainment lineup,” said San Diego LGBT Pride’s Executive Director, Dwayne Crenshaw. “We are incredibly thrilled to announce this year’s headliners as the Pride team is hard at work to make this the best Pride celebration ever.”

Like Love Haha Wow Sad Angry

Related Post